His Word Stands Forever

Lately I’ve been trying to sort out what I’m thinking in my head so that I can put it into words and share it with others.  People have asked me what God has been teaching me and I haven’t been able to pin just one thing down.  There are so many lessons I’ve learned in the last 4 months it would take many pages to write them all, many conversations to tell about each lesson God has taught me.

In the last four months my love for God’s word has continued to grow.  I have read the Bible for many years.  I love reading God’s word!  But recently, it has taken on a new meaning in my life.  The more time I spend in the word, the more I love it. “For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart” (Hebrews 4:12).  His word is a lamp to light the way.  “Every word of God proves true” (Proverbs 30:5).  The things of this earth pass away, but ” the word of our God will stand forever” (Isaiah 40:8).  God’s word is alive today.  It is as applicable now as it was thousands of years ago.  “For whatever was written in former days was written for our instruction, that through endurance and through the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope” (Romans 15:4).  No matter who you are, there are scriptures that apply to you.  No matter what you are facing, there are passages that have the power to instruct and change you.  There is nothing new under the sun.  What has been done is what will be done.  When I read God’s word I see the things I am facing reflected perfectly.  When I can’t quite put into words what I am going through or learning, I can read the Bible and understand more clearly.

As I learn more about God and understand more about who He is and who he wants me to become, I understand more of His word.  The scriptures have become more alive to me than ever before.  As the Psalmist says in Psalms 119:147 “I hope in your [His] words.  My eyes are awake before the watches of the night, that I may meditate on your [His] promise” and in Psalms 119:161-162 “My heart stands in awe of your words.  I rejoice at your word like one who finds great spoil.”  I keep reading His word and pouring over passage after passage of scripture.  The more time I spend in the word the more time I want to read it.

Last night I was reading 1 Peter.  Verse after verse encouraged me and filled me to overflowing.  One verse in particular that stuck out to me was 1 Peter 1:8.  “Though you have not seen Him, you love Him.  Though you do not now see Him you believe Him and rejoice with joy that is inexpressible”.

I have never seen God, yet I have come to love Him.  I have seen His love for me through creation, through His words, through His promises, and through answered prayers.

In recent months Jesus has become more real to me than ever.  Yet even now, I do not see Him.  I have not seen His face or His form, nor have I audibly heard His voice.  With my physical eyes I have not and do not see God yet I rejoice with joy that is inexpressible.  I know He is real.  I know that He loves me.  I know that He loves the world.

My joy at the words and the faithfulness of the Lord simply cannot be expressed except in the very words found within scripture.  Christ surpasses all understanding.  Most would not understand the joy I have found. “For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God” (1 Corinthians 1:18).  In the past several months, I have faced some of the most difficult decisions.  I have been challenged in ways I never dreamed of or even wanted, yet I have come through stronger and more full of joy and the love of Christ.  My own words can never fully express the joy that fills me.  Only God’s word can bring understanding to the joy, the peace, and the love I am filled with.  This joy is inexpressible.  I have indeed “tasted that the Lord is good” (1 Peter 2:3).

If you are ever wondering what God is doing in your life or if you are facing a situation you simply cannot understand, take time to read God’s word.  Abide in His word.  He has given us the scriptures as a light to guide our steps.  Don’t look for answers in the world.  Look for answers in the word of God which is flawless and stands forever.

2 comments

  1. Elizabeth Neale · May 16, 2016

    Thank you for writing again. I love this one. Thank you for the bible verses to little did you know that they helped me alot.

    Like

    • farmergirlneale · May 16, 2016

      Lizzy, you are welcome! I am so glad it was an encouragement to you! Keep reading your Bible sweet girl!

      Like

Leave a Reply

